Support Import

Manage Process Versions

In the Version Control section, the version History of a Process is shown, either in the Control Desk or in the Process Studio.

When a process is edited, then there is either the option to Save it or Save and Commit. Should you choose to commit any changes that you make to the Process, a new version of the Process is created and you have to define the Version of the committed changes. When a version is created, it is automatically placed at the Development stage of the Process's lifecycle.

If we edit a Process and simply Save it, an “Uncommitted Changes” version of the Process is created. This version does not belong to any of the three stages of the Process lifecycle (Development, Review, Production).

Capture.PNG

Each Process can have only one “Uncommitted Changes” version and is the only version that we are able to edit.

When we edit a Process, in reality, we edit a copy of the Process’s latest version. We can also edit a copy of another version, by right-clicking on it and selecting “Checkout”. In this way, the copy of that version becomes the “Uncommitted Changes” version and we are prompted to commit the current changes (previous Uncommitted Changes) if such a version already exists.

Capture2.PNG

In addition to Checkout, there is also the choice to “Save as New Process”, “Export Process” and "Delete Process" when you right click on a version. When exporting or deleting a Process, it is possible to do so for the 'Selected version only' or 'Selected version and all previous'.

Capture3.PNG

If we double click on a version, the “Commit Details” window will appear. In this window, we can find information about the version:

  • Commit timestamp: Date and Time of the Commit.

  • Committer: The User who made the Commit.

  • Version: The version number.

  • Commit Message: The message written when the Commit was made.

  • The Transition History of the specific version through its lifecycle.

Capture4.PNG