Support Import

Process Lifecycle

The lifecycle of a Process consists of three stages: Development, Review and Production.

The stages that a Process has been throughout its 'life', can be seen by clicking on “History” in the “Version Control” section, either from the Control Desk or the Process Studio console.

Lifecycle_PR_2a1.PNG

Development

Since we have created a Process that does something, we have the option to Save or Save and Commit the Process.

Lifecycle_PR_2a2.PNG

Should we choose the latter option, a version of the Process is created. This version is automatically placed in Development. Practically, this means that the Process has been saved, a version has been assigned to the saved Process and that this version is ready to migrate to Review.

Review

Once a version has been transferred to the Review stage, the user can test the execution of the Process to different Robots or Robot Pools. At this point, the user is not able to further edit the Process and he is only able to review the way it performs in many stage, in order to ensure that it meets his expectations. Should any defects be found, then the Process should be Discarded from this stage and move back to Development. If everything works as expected, it is ready to be transferred to the final stage, which is Production.

In order to set a Process for Review, we click on the Process from the Process Studio console and select the Set for Review option.

Lifecycle_PR_2a3.PNG

At this point, a pop up window will prompt the user to select the version of the Process which will be set for Review.

Lifecycle_PR_2a4.PNG

Important Note: The versions that are available to Set for Review, are only the ones that have been created later than the latest version which has already been Set for Review. For example, if version 3.0 has already been Set for Review, then only versions 4.0 and 5.0 will be available in the future. Versions 1.0 and 2.0 cannot be Set for Review anymore. Additionally, if version 3.0 which has already been Set for Review is Discarded, then the available versions will be 3.0, 4.0 and 5.0.

The moment that a Process is being transferred to the Review stage, it appears in the Control Desk, in the same folder as the one that it is in the Process Studio and under the Tag: Review.

Lifecycle_PR_2a5.PNG

When we click to run a Process that is under Review from the Control Desk, we will be prompted to set the available Execution Targets that the Process will run on.

Lifecycle_PR_2a6.PNG

Only one version of a Process can exist at the Review stage at any given time. When a newer version is Set for Review, then the older one is no longer in this stage.

Lifecycle_PR_2a7.PNG

Since a Process has been Reviewed, there is the option to either Move it to Production (the final stage) or Discard it.

Lifecycle_PR_2a8.PNG

If a Process is Discarded from Review, it will automatically go back to Development. At this point, the same version or an earlier one can be set again for Review from the Process Studio console.

Production

The final stage of a Process Lifecycle is that of Production. When a Process is in this stage, it has been developed, it has been tested and it is ready to be deployed to an Execution Target.

A Process can pass from Review to Production only from the Control Desk, where it is placed under the Tag: Production.

Lifecycle_PR_2a9.PNG

Should we click to Start the Process from the Control Desk, it is necessary that we define the Execution Target (the Robots) it will run on.

Discard from Production

A Process can be Discarded from Production and be transferred back to the Development stage. Note that the Process will NOT go back to Review, but it will migrate directly to Development. From this stage, we are able to set again for Review the same or a newer version of the Process from the Process Studio console.

When a Process is Discarded from Production (or Review) a circle with a red mark appears in the Process’s History window.

Lifecycle_PR_2a10.PNG

If version 4.0 in the above example is Discarded from Production, then ONLY version 5.0 will be available to Set for Review from the Process Studio. All the other versions will NOT be available any more.

Note: Every time that a Process is transferred from one stage to another (forward or backwards) we are prompted to write a Message, in order to keep on record the reason of the transfer.